A password-protected directory or area is a folder that can be accessed only if a username and a password are provided, so no unauthorized people could observe its content. This function could be used for the primary folder of a particular site or only for a particular subfolder depending on the needs you have. As an example, when you are creating a new Internet site and you don't want people to see it prior to it being ready, you might want to limit the access to it as a whole, while if you need only some people to be able to access certain files, you may password-protect only a certain folder, while the remainder of the site could be seen by everyone. In any case, a “403 Forbidden” error page will appear in case the login details the visitor enters are not accurate. Even a direct link to a file will not work as long as any folder above it is password-protected.

Password Protected Directories in Semi-dedicated Servers

When you have a semi-dedicated server account with our company, you will be able to protect any content you have uploaded through our protection tool. Its interface is as basic and intuitive as that of the Hepsia Control Panel it's part of, so you will not have to enter any code at any time. You will only need to select one of the domains/subdomains that you have in the hosting account and to determine which folder should be password-protected - the website’s root folder or some folder below it. You may then input the username and the password, which will be stored in encrypted form in our system, and you will be all set. The protection will be switched on right away, so anyone that attempts to access the freshly secured folder will have to type in the accurate login details. In cases where several people have to be able to access exactly the same content, you can create a separate username for each one.